Love languages are important in building and preserving your relationship; they help you understand your partner. When I was younger, my parents would always do my favorite things like; making sure I had snacks to keep my mouth busy while watching my favorite Tv shows, put my favorite songs on repeat while on the way to school, buy fruits I loved eating, and much more. Now that I’m an adult and I look back, I see that those were all acts of service; they expressed their love for me by doing things they knew I enjoyed.

Love is a language that speaks to our heart, mind, and soul, therefore, giving it the power to build and break. As such, it is important to understand all the love languages and how to speak them effectively. Not only is it an essential part of sustaining your relationship but it is also key to communicating and understanding people better. Dr. Gary Chapman states that there are five love languages and they are; Words of Affirmation, Acts of Service, Receiving Gifts, Quality Time, and Physical Touch. For our love series, we will be focusing on Acts of Service.

What are Acts of Service?

Acts of service are simply things you do for your partner to express your love and affection towards them. These are usually thoughtful acts your partner would love and appreciate. This could be putting gas in their car, shopping for groceries, or buying something you know they have wanted for a while. There are a variety of ways you can express love through acts of service, some of them are;

  • Opening the door for them
  • Carrying heavy stuff for them
  • Fixing breakfast in bed
  • Helping with massages after a long day
  • Taking them out to their favorite restaurants
  • Surprising them with their favorite snacks

There are a variety of ways to show love through Acts of Service, what matters is you deciding to selflessly love your partner through their love language. To see more ideas check here or here, there are many examples of acts of service so you can pick a couple to try out; remember to make it fun.

Not many people are aware of love languages, they simply run on auto-pilot when it comes to their partners. Well, this is the perfect time to learn more about love languages, trust me it makes the relationship sweeter. The first step to this is finding out what makes your partner gush with love and affection and identifying their love language. If you have noticed that your partner has preferential treatment towards Acts of Service, here are some tips to help you;

  • Avoid doing the things your partner detests, finds uninteresting, or annoying: Do more of what they enjoy and make sure you’re doing it with your heart and remove every atom of haphazardness in your relationship. Be present body, mind, and spirit.
  • Offer your help more: If there are things your partner finds difficult to do, you should offer assistance. It is usually a form of encouragement and it can go a long way in strengthening your bond.
  • Be intentional about showing love through your Acts of Service: Make out time in your schedule you can dedicate to appreciating your partner. It doesn’t have to be some grand thing, it might even be a little but significant act. Just show that you have them on your mind as often as you can.
  • Have an eye for detail and keep your ears peeled for information: Your partner often talks about the things they might want or need in passing and if you don’t pay attention to comments like that, you will miss that opportunity. So be very attentive when you’re with your partner and show that you listen to them; it works like magic.

What if my love language is Acts of Service, How do I get my partner to know?

If you feel shy or do not know how to go about talking to your partner about love languages, you can suggest that they take this quiz. This can help you introduce the topic and assist in sharing some insight into it. Never be afraid of telling your partner how you want to be loved, it takes two to tango. Speaking your love languages to each other will help boost your relationship by making it healthy, fun, peaceful, and worth your while. Just learn to communicate and everything will fall in place.

Just in case you may have missed the first of our love series, here is the link to it. Your love can only become stronger when you and your partner decide to put in the work. Even if none of your primary love languages are Acts of Service, it is still very important to engage in it from time to time. It shows thoughtfulness, tender care, and interest in doing things for the person you love. Never underestimate it.

I hope you enjoyed this article, stay tuned for more from our love series!


Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.